Skip to main content
Airbag – Norwegian rock band

Airbag is hailed as one of the most important bands to emerge from the Norwegian progressive scene over the past decades. Their five critically acclaimed albums reveal a band that masterfully blends diverse musical styles and sounds, with a strong narrative listening experience. The band’s 6th album, The Century of the Self, will be released on Karisma Records summer 2024.

Airbag was formed in the mid 2000s by five high school class mates, including Asle Tostrup (vocals) and Bjørn Riis (guitars). The band released their first EP, titled Come on In in 2004 and a string of self produced EPs was offered for free on their website receiving nearly a quarter of a million downloads within a few months. The networking paid off and Airbag signed with the now prestigious Norwegian prog label Karisma Records in August 2008.

Airbag’s debut album, Identity (Karisma Records 2009) feature remixed songs from their previously released EPs. Identity received several album of the year awards, with the single, Colours, reaching top 3 on Polish national radio. Their second album, All Rights Removed (Karisma Records 2011) saw a change in the line-up and a more mature and confident band, with Henrik Bergan Fossum behind the drums. The album feature the epic seventeen minute long Homesick – a fan favourite showcasing the band’s ability to blend bombastic arrangements with ambient soundscapes.

2012 saw Airbag touring and opening for Marillion. Over the years, the band has shared the stage with several prominent names in prog, including Yes, Saga, Anathema, Pineapple Thief and Riverside.

Airbag frequent some of the biggest venues in Europe and are three times returning guests at the annual Cruise to the Edge in the US.

The band’s next albums, The Greatest Show on Earth (Karisma Records 2013) and Disconnected (Karisma Records 2016) reveals a darker side of the band, with lyrics dealing with society’s destructive forces and the individual’s struggle to fit in. The ever current topics are underlined by heavier guitars and dramatic arrangements. Both albums received much praise for impressive production and musicianship.

Airbag’s 5th album, A Day at the Beach (Karisma Records 2020) was inspired by the resurgence of 1980s electronica, new wave and movie scores. Airbag created a powerful sound combining ethereal soundscapes with their signature guitar driven progressive rock. The result was a stunning selection of songs revealing a mature band looking forward, with an impressive legacy.

Airbag will be out touring in 2024/25 supporting their upcoming release The Century of the Self.


Asle Tostrup (vocals)
Henrik Bergan Fossum (drums)
Bjørn Riis (guitar)